corecouture

Essential sewing keeping me clothed and sane

Re-Entry

19 Comments

Many of my blogging buddies seem to be taking sabbaticals – as I apparently have too – although not intentionally. Things just get in the way. I’ve been sewing and making, just not taking photos, posing, showing and telling. As the Easter holidays are fast approaching I should have more spare time and I’ll try to make more of an effort; attempting to match my blogging with my sewing.

I’ll start with a nice little simple  jumper (UK), sweater (US) – did I get that right? A gentle slide back into blogging. A useful top layer on chillier days and summer evenings.

I started with Vogue 9193 Marcy Tilton top and pants and a soft wool mix from Sherwood p1030377Fabrics in a very delicate shell pink (it comes in pale blue too). The knitted fabric has a lace-like quality. Easy pattern with cut on sleeves, scooped neck and loose fitting. Each pattern piece is cut on a single layer because of the slanted hemline, so pin everything on before cutting just in case……..

V9193I only cut out the top sections of the pattern, not the bottom bits with the pocket and lengthened one side to 22″ and the other to 26″ for an asymmetrical hemline.

The edges are finished with the selvedge for a neatness.

I added one patch pocket on the longer side just because.

There was a leftover piece of the knit fabric and I’ve been seeing a lot of poncho/shrug things in the shops. On closer inspection, these are a bit of fabric folded over with a seam at one shoulder and a hole for the head. Easy-peasy.

I took my bit of fabric, folded it, seamed the open edge, overlocked the long edges, found a button that matched and stitched this mid way.DSCN6967

I have two openings in my version of the poncho/shrug and can wear it diagonally over my jumper to offset the asymmetry and add an extra layer. One hole for my head , the other for my arm.

DSCN6959

But the little add-on can be worn as a hood or as a draped scarf – very versatile.

DSCN6960

Worn today with a pair of burgundy wool Clovers, from Colette this shade of pink seems to go with practically every other colour. It’s almost a neutral.

DSCN6961

There you are – a soft re-entry back to blogging with a soft and easy jumper.

DSCN6962

 

19 thoughts on “Re-Entry

  1. Oh fabulous of course. Your extra layering piece is a great use of extra fabric

  2. This is clever and versatile and flattering Ruth. I always association light, warm(shell) pink with ballet shoes and being a little kid. I love it with avocado green. So evocative.

  3. lovely, thanks for the inspiration !!

  4. It’s the perfect thing to do with that little bit of extra fabric. Casual and elegant. Perfect.

  5. It was definitely very quiet without you! Glad all is well and I hope you’re enjoying spring (with a suitably light new wardrobe!).

  6. Lovely sweater (yes, US). The fabric is gorgeous and you chose the perfect pattern for it, and creative addition.

  7. Ruth, I love this! How soft and drapy and fabulous! Your added poncho is simply brilliant! You look great!

  8. Like cherry blossoms in color and texture–the essence of spring.

  9. Looks so much cooler with your improvised addition! 👍👍👍

  10. Love it. Great fabric. I haven’t really like Marcie Tilton’s patterns, not fitted enough for me, but I really think this works in your fabric. Something thicker wouldn’t work as well. Also like the asymmetry, gives it some edge. Enjoy the Easter break. X

  11. Lovely Ruth, and no scrap lying around in your house 😉

Let's talk.....

