corecouture

Essential sewing keeping me clothed and sane

Tunic Time Two

15 Comments

You don’t need to comment ’cause  a lot of you already have and I appreciate every one – thank you , as promised, here’s the second version of Sandra Betzina’s Vogue 1477. First one here.

This time made in a fluid jersey with multi-coloured stripes and coordinating leggings. Totally inappropriate for this time of year in the northern hemisphere but thank goodness for central heating.

DSCN5938

Same care taken with stripe matching but his time the bodices and back cut on opposing grains.

DSCN5945

There is a back seam in there – adds to the waist-line shaping – and just look at the matching across the sleeves…….with stretch fabric you can just gently ease it into position.

DSCN5942.jpg

Both fabrics are from MyFabrics and it was sheer good luck that they went together well. Leggings are McCalls 1673.

DSCN5944

The pattern review is here on Pattern Review (duh!) so I’m not going to write another one. Nothing has changed except the fabric.

DSCN5940

Because this jersey is so much lighter than the first version, the stretch is more pronounced and the deep-V at the neck-line is truly deep. Hence I made  a little  short top to cover any underwear sneaking out.

DSCN5959.jpg

Once again the double sided adhesive tape was used liberally along all edges but with an additional single row of stitching on hems, sleeves and neck-line.

All seams were overlocked (serged). I sewed them first on the sewing machine and then overlocked afterwards.

DSCN5960

This style of dressing is very similar to traditional Asian/Indian dressing: Chanderi suits or salwar kameez – salwar = pants, kameez = shirt

The Indian versions are made in cotton and for posh events, silk or georgette, and often with a border print or heavily embellished and decorated but a great style and totally relevant.

Having read a few blogs reviews of the V&A Indian fabrics exhibition and making the connection between this Vogue pattern and the obvious Indian style I’m thinking of saree fabric next – 9 yards of border silk – and what I could do with that….

If you’re interested in other Indian style dress – just look here – fabulous! Just can’t compete with that kinda of style!

DSCN5947

I was going to wear this on Christmas Day but couldn’t wait and I wore it to the Carol service yesterday so now I have to think of another garment that can accommodate the festivities.

If I’m not back before the weekend – wishing you and yours a peaceful, enjoyable and pleasant Christmas.

images

15 thoughts on “Tunic Time Two

  1. …. another great outfit. Thank you for another year of inspirational sharing. Have a lovely Christmas.

  2. Happy Christmas. Another year full of winners for you. Thanks for the inspiration. Keep chasing your ideas!

  3. You’re making this pattern famous! I’m in the mood for it, something not maxi – the leggings will work for me. Ruth, I love you in colors and stripes. Wow. You look beautiful. Merry, happy, and peaceful to you and your family as well, Coco

  4. Love, love, love. That’s the look I’m slowly sewing toward. I’ve always liked the salwar kameez look.

  5. Fabulous outfit. You make the best things! Merry Christmas

  6. It works, so why not run up another one!

  7. You are on fire Ruth! I love the way you have played with the stripes here. Though when I read this on my phone I thought you were wearing fishnet tights and giving us a flash…..Thank you for your inspirational blog and I wish you a very Happy Christmas.

  8. I love the stripe matching and the matching of your leggings with your tunic. Very nice! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

  9. What a great fabric match with the leggings. Pattern matching extraordinaire. I really like the curve of the stripe on the neckline, lovely shape. You must have been the most exciting at the carol festival! Have a wonderful Christmas, here’s to 2016. X

  10. Love this outfit Ruth. The fabric is gorgeous and I love the way the leggings coordinate so well with the stripes. Have a very Happy Christmas.

  11. My goodness, you are a print matching ninja! I looked at the second photo, and wondered how the whole back including sleeves was cut in one piece! Have a lovely christmas, Lynne.

  12. Perfect stripe matching and cool colors…I too thought the leggings were fishnet tights…ha ha! I’ll bet this dress is so comfortable and you got plenty of compliments! Fabulous! Just waiting now to see what you cook up for 2016…what a great finish to 2015!

  13. I love this shape and the inspiration- color and fabric envy burst!

  14. Striking and you wear it so very well – classy and sassy!

  15. I will have to make this. I went to the India exhibition at the V & A as a treat & loved it

Let's talk.....

