corecouture

Essential sewing keeping me clothed and sane

Hybrids

10 Comments

I had intended to create a new Alabama Chanin collection this summer but my desire for instant gratification triggered a flurry of machine sewing and I’ll be lucky to get one AC skirt finished at all. I had a tonne of cotton jersey that was ordered in prep DSCN5343for hand sewing but it was crying out to be made into something to stop me feeling guilty about not meeting my own goals and objectives. There now follows a collection of stuff that has no skirt to match……..

First, Drape Drape 2 asymmetrical top. I received the book as a birthday present – lovely, and traced off the eponymous top immediately. Ironically, this was hand sewn, AC style. Reading reviews, everyone said that the sizing is small so I graduated the pattern up, especially around the hips for me, but I think the neckline is now too loose. Small adjustments to be made on the next (and there will be) one.

DSCN5405

The body is pale grey with dark grey neck and hem bands attached with embroidery thread using a slightly stretchy back-stitch. The single side seam and the sleeve hems are hand sewn too.

DSCN5407

Next,  Alabama Chanin’s corset top. This pattern is included in the new Patterns book but I had it already traced off from one of the earlier books. Except this time the serger was employed and not a hand stitch in sight.

DSCN5401

The top is double layered with a neutral coloured cotton jersey as this is a very fitted top and it needs a bit of strength. No embellishments apart from a little strip over the back neckline; the armhole bands are machine stitched with a large zig-zag.

DSCN5384

I do like how the back is dipped lower than the front in this top – means when you sit down there’s no flesh on show.DSCN5404

Finally, Alabama Chanin’s classic jacket from the Patterns book except my version is a little weird. A simple pattern with front, back and one-piece sleeves but I cut a load of 1″ strips and sewed these onto the jacket to resemble a check or a convict?

DSCN5397

I serged the side seams and then sewed the strips sort of straightish onto the ‘flat’ jacket.

DSCN5340

And the benefit of sewing your own stripes on is that you can be sure they match across the seams…

DSCN5416

It’s a great wee jacket – cardigan-like, easy to wear yet finishes a very simple outfit. Mine is the length it is because of fabric limitations but the pattern comes with various lengths including a long version. The edges are finished with a handsewn band. I didn’t add pockets and I miss them.DSCN5396I did make a fundamental mistake with the stripes though – I sewed them with a straight stitch and some rows have broken. If you are mad enough to try this for yourself – use a small zig-zag or lightning bolt stitch to allow for natural body stretch and movement. I’m going to have to go back and mend the broken bits before the stripes start falling off!

And finally a scarf and brooch. The scarf is what’s leftover from the dark grey and I’m being bold calling it a scarf – it’s a bit of fabric! The brooch is beaded and slightly resembles a flower.

DSCN5381

Gather your bits and pieces together – strips of fabric, brooch pin, beads and thread: start with a circle of fabric and I put a bit of batting behind mine for a bit of structure. Turn under a hem and you’re ready to go.

DSCN5369

Start on the outside edge and sew on one of the strips. This one was gathered first but it’s easy to pleat as you go.

DSCN5371The next strip covers the raw edges of the first and so on until you reach the centre.

DSCN5373

I beaded the centre but another little circle of fabric works too.

DSCN5375The back is a mess, so cover this up with another circle of fabric and sew on the pin. I used larger circles that show at the front of the brooch too.You’re not aiming for perfection here – merely the hint of a bloom of some sort – a hybrid.

DSCN5376

DSCN5379

Pin to your scarf or lapel and wait for the compliments! In my experience, people always comment on the brooch and not the clothes beneath!

DSCN5382

So, there you have it – Alabama Chanin patterns made on a machine and a Japanese pattern made in AC style. DSCN5410DSCN5398

10 thoughts on “Hybrids

  1. Excellent results, and lots of creativity there Ruth. I love the drape drape top, and I think the stripes look amazing and pull the outfit together. Also as you say a dipped hem on a top is a great boon for those that don’t want to show your back. Also I love your dark grey jeans. A super set for summer.

  2. Love, love love the cardi and drape top, especially together. Great stripe matching too.

  3. I love the top with stripes…very fun to do! Pretty “collection of stuff that has no skirt to match”…that’s how I feel with my collection of skirts I made with no tops to match!!! 🙂

  4. Most stylish convict ever!!!!! 😉

  5. Fabulous hybridizing! I love your jacket – great ideas that look chic!

  6. You’ve shown great creativity in all these looks!

  7. Love the jacket and brooch.

  8. Wow good job with the stripes. That must have been difficult! The results are very unique!

  9. Having seen the drape drape top and jacket with my own eyes, I know how lovely they are! I didn’t notice any of the stripes coming loose on the jacket, but maybe it hadn’t happened then. I love the corset top, I wouldn’t mind a look at that too!

  10. All looking great. I love that you mix styles and methods to suit yourself. I made that drape drape top and closed the neckline quite a lot on the second (for decency).It is a very comfortable,wearable top so I am sure you will enjoy wearing yours.

Let's talk.....

