corecouture

Essential sewing keeping me clothed and sane

Swimming, not Drowning

23 Comments

 

Lying on the sun drenched sands of completion are a navy over black tunicDSCN4410

A reversible bolero (black & navy) and a matching scarf.DSCN4411

Paddling at the shoreline are two skirt backs being seamed at the centre…

DSCN4434

Two skirt fronts, stitched and ready for cutting…

DSCN4435

Running over the sand dunes are a plain brown, single layer knee length skirt..

DSCN4440

And a plain brown, single layer bolero – both awaiting embellishment of a band of beads.

DSCN4446

Further out at sea is a black and brown skirt

DSCN4438

Floating on a Lilo and being carried by the tide is  a dusky pink T-shirt with thousands of glass beads at neck and sleeve ends….

DSCN4442

Bobbing amongst the big waves is a brown over dusky pink dress, just started on stitching…

DSCN4445

And way over the horizon is a black over brown coat – cut but still on the paper pattern.

DSCN4437

And the boat is bringing more cotton jersey………

 

23 thoughts on “Swimming, not Drowning

  1. I love how you have completely immersed yourself in this style. I am still just thinking about it!

  2. Wow. This looks so well executed – and gorgeous.

  3. Whoa! Remind me not to get sucked into this addiction! Awesome !

  4. Wow, you’re not swimming, you’re on fire!

  5. In love the pink and brown combo.. Where are you getting your cotton jersey. I cannot believe how fast you have done all that!!

  6. Overwhelming just thinking of all the work hours! I checked here several times and did not see new posts. Thought it would mean you were taking a break, but the photos tell otherwise. Very impressive and initial products point to complete success!!

  7. Wow, your productivity is impressive! And all the pieces look gorgeous 🙂
    I just stumbled upon the Ezra coat recently and decided I need to have something like it, but haven’t progressed any further than starting a test pannel and ordering the jersey. May I ask what pattern you used for your overcoat? I’ve been looking around and find it hard to find a pattern with a seam at the hip.

    • That’s a start Koko. I haven’t started on the coat as I want to finish some of these first. The pattern I’ve used is vintage Vogue 8875 – not many pieces

  8. Gorgeous….you really have started something now, Ruth! My cottons are pinned together and waiting for a day to get further along. Your students will not be able to concentrate on their studies for admiring your clothes…just be warned!

  9. What a fun summer you’ve had. All are going to be so fabulous.

  10. Can’t wait to see the pics when these are done. I checked your Alabama Channin website and they sure have some great designs.

  11. I wasn’t taken with this style at first, but you are bringing me around!

Let's talk.....

