corecouture

Essential sewing keeping me clothed and sane

Indies 3 – Four Square

6 Comments

I’m back to work after a wonderfully long and relaxing summer – one week in and I feel like I haven’t been off at all. The start of the new academic year is always quite stressful and tiring: enrolling new students, advising on best course choices, sorting out sensible timetables etc etc etc. But you don’t want to hear about that, you want to hear about sewing…..

I would have loved to show you photos of me, slimline and elegant, wafting around in my Four Square dress from the Centre for Pattern Design but it’s not to be.

CfPD draft patterns based on classic designs such as Chanel, Balenciagga and in this case Vinnonet. Many of the patterns are cut on the bias which makes them a little more awkward to work with than straight cut and Sandra, who is the designer, recommends that the patterns are not for beginners. Usually, the paper patterns come in three sizes, small, medium and large and with the bias element it is a bit of guesswork as to which size actually fits. Instructions are minimal, there’s no line drawing of the finished garment just mannequin photos as a guide as to what your finished item should resemble. The pattern is printed on A2/A1 printer paper, so it’s heavy duty. Once again, if anyone is listening, trace off from this master copy onto tissue for malleability and cutting ease. It will also make life easier if you have to make alterations. I ran out of tracing tissue recently and as it was 8.00 on a Tuesday evening all the sewing supply shops were closed, so I went to the supermarket and bought a couple of paper tablecloths. Thin enough to see through and trace, and large enough to take a complete pattern piece, and at £1 each, much much cheaper than tissue. Just treat with care as they do stretch.

I’ve made a few of CfPD patterns before: the MV bias top, the CC skirt, CB Spiral blouse. And I’ve made each one way more than once only. Construction does become easier and quicker with practice and once the fitting issues are sorted. They are some of my most favourite patterns.

Slide1

I am a great fan of CfPD: the simplicity of the pattern pieces that transform into a garment that drapes beautifully and is totally unique. With the patterns I’ve previously made there are usually only two, three, maybe four, seams. But do not let that lull you into  ‘quick’ make mode. The fit and fabric choice is all important.

So the Four Square Dress…….

Four_Square_Blu2_grande Four_Square_Dress_3_grande

It has cut-in-one sleeves with gussets and a full circle skirt of squares. The neck is a stand-up close to the body. There is no closure since the bias cut adjusts itself to figure contours as it drops over the head like a T-shirt.  What’s not to like?

I had snagged some linen/cotton at a ridiculously low price of £4/m. The colours are rather dull but thought it would make an ideal test fabric for the dress and a good transitional garment for autumn. You need LOTS of fabric – being cut on the bias. There’s ONE pattern piece – cut four times. Fabric recommendations are for a drapey fabric, rayon, viscose, silk or wool crepe – but no jersey!

The sizing on the pattern reads: SM = 36″ (91.4 cm), MD = 38″ (96.5 cm), LG = 41″ (104.1 cm)

On my previous makes I have altered between med and large mostly for my hips, but the bust sizes made me go straight for the medium for the dress. I usually cut a Vogue 14 if that’s a guide for you and sizing and I wear a 34/36 bra. I made no alterations to the pattern, just cut and sewed. The instructions do state that there might be a bit of dinky-doing (my words) at the shoulder seam for a better fit and you can see below how I had to alter the seam for a better fit. I also interfaced the stand up collar with a fusible thinking that would help the shape.

DSC00324

DSC00325

I sewed up the main construction seams. Then I tried it on. No pics, definitely no pics! I have a tonne of adjustments to make.

The sleeves are too narrow, I couldn’t close the inside seam over my biceps, so they need widening by at least 2″. though I notice that Sandra has added a tip about this to her web page.

The fullness of the skirt started at my waist and I think they would look better starting at hip level, so the bodice needs lengthening by about 5″.

Overall, the dress was too fitted and the bias drape was non-existant as I filled the entire thing, so the whole dress needs enlarging by 2″ all round. Should have cut the Large!

And to top it all off, I’m not convinced I look good in this style. Adds to the hips, lost the waist and I look like I’m standing on a slope. The irregular hemline is attractive but on me it looks like my robust rear is ‘lifting’ the back of the skirt up. As I’ve been wont this summer (here and here), I whacked off the bodice and made the dress into a skirt. What I have ended up with is something akin to Sham’s tablecloth skirt but she looks fab in hers while  mine does nothing for me.

OK, a few photos….just to prove it to you……

DSC00369

Nice roots! Here’s two of the four

DSC00372

Ok from this view: shame about the face!

DSC00373

Looks perfect, doesn’t it?

DSC00374

A la Vogue – front, back and sides – badddddd

DSC00375

There’s sway back for you if you didn’t know what it was or what it looked like

I’ve been looking at the skirt too to see if I can salvage any fabric for something else. I hate wasting fabric. Check your measurements against the pattern before cutting and in the perfect world buy some cheap fabric and make a muslin – yeah, yeah I know….. Do as I say and not as I do.

These are not cheap and cheerful patterns – they are very carefully thought out, designed and drafted and only come in the paper versions. They are expensive and added to the cost of the pattern, is shipping from America and in this case, the tax man caught me and I had to pay import duty and some outrageous administration charge that brought the total cost of the pattern to over £40. An expensive trial that I lost.

Have I given up? I don’t know. I really do love this dress design but maybe it’s just not for me. Maybe I just have to accept the fact that full skirts just don’t suit me – they add volume where I need it least although I’m still a sucker for a skinny mannequin in a beautiful dress……..

6 thoughts on “Indies 3 – Four Square

  1. Such a shame, Ruth. Bias garments are very tricky, indeed. Vionnet draped most of her designs on a dressform (in half scale) or even on a live model. I do think your skirt is very cute, though!!

  2. OHH! This totally makes me sad- I was loving the neck and shoulders of this one. The skirt is fun tho…..

  3. I LOVE the skirt and I do not think it adds volume to you at all. I love the dress pattern also…maybe it would work better in a knit. I have a 4 corners skirt with a yoke that’s similar to that, and I wear it often.

  4. Wowser…but I agree with you. You’ve done so many other things that suit you better 🙂 Maybe you have a linen tank shirt or two in there…

  5. Pingback: Back to Vogue Interview | corecouture

  6. Pingback: 2013 Sewing Year in Review | corecouture

Let's talk.....

