corecouture

Essential sewing keeping me clothed and sane

May 3

10 Comments

So believe it or not the third week of May has just finished – a small reality check for those who don’t subscribe to the Mon-Fri 9-5 livestyle and for those who do – closer to summer whayhey!  – and this is what I wore this week:

[Please be advised that this what I look like leaving the house on any given morning, what I look like at 5pm is not the subject of this (or any future blog)

Monday – time for some summerish skirts and bare legs – a quilters cotton skirt with RTW top . No pattern, sorry I can’t remember, just a two-piece A-line.

Image

Tuesday    –  Good old Katherine Tilton tunic made last summer and truly a wardrobe stalwart, this time cut straight up the middle and thus converted into a jacket/cardigan and worn over a self-drafted draped T in leftover fabric; worn over RTW linen/silk wide legged trousers, which were bought in a sale and altered to fit.
Image

Wednesday

Take a border print fabric – lay the Centre for Pattern Design Bias top upon it: cut out, sew: wear with the same black linen trousers as Tuesday.

An unique and beautiful rendition that will look different in every fabric and different front and back too. Now.. isn’t that what’s brilliant about making your own clothes? The only one in the whole wide world. Blog post soon – in fact I’m thinking about starting a self-help group for people who, like me, are addicted to this pattern.ImageImageThursday – The spring weather changed to winter today so I had to wear raincoats etc. The summer raincoat from last year with a Tilton shirt V8748 (not blogged but worn a lot) and Seven fV8748or All Mankind jeans.

 Image

And Friday… last exam for my adult students after two years of classes and study, and an invite to “celebrate’ with them this afternoon – temperatures rising so wore my Vogue 8870 (post soon) with boots and denim jacket 
Image

And so ends another week in May and the crazy, chaotic life of SewRuth  – this weekend will be spent marking those adult students’ exam papers – and I’m betting I’ll be wearing  PJs and sweats – no Chanel this weekend, well, actually maybe, perhaps….

Oh wow! how good would you feel if your examination was graded by a teacher wearing  haute couture?

Makes me get up every morning…..

10 thoughts on “May 3

  1. Great week! I think you deserve a weekend in pjs. I would love a weekend in pjs:)

  2. You are such a classy broad! (said with great admiration!) Your students are lucky to have you as a role model!

  3. Ruth, love your new bias top. Is it a woven, or knit?

  4. I have no doubt you still look incredibly stylish at 5pm 🙂

  5. Your wardrobe is inspiring! You have such a knack for classic style. I hope that by looking at your photos some of that will rub off on me?!? I think the Wed. version of your Bias Top is my favorite so far! The combination of design and fabric is absolutely perfect.

  6. Great outfits! The print on your skirt is lovely, but my absolute favorite is that coat, loooove the lining.

  7. love love love that Bias Top! U R 2 Kewl.

  8. love that raincoat and tilton shirt.

Let's talk.....

