corecouture

Essential sewing keeping me clothed and sane

Just Chanel

61 Comments

Karl Lagerfeld made a book called the Little Black Jacket: Here’s my version.

No celebs, no fashion people, no make-up artists or stylists, no champagne, no fanfare or publicity, in fact, not even a little black jacket – a navy one instead.

Chanel with party frock

And what’s this? A matching dress?
If you’re really that interested, you can click here to see all relevant postings on this jacket. If you have 108 hours to spend usually either hand sewing or steam pressing and you too can have the same jacket. Vogue 8804 Claire Shaeffer Custom Couture Collection.
Item number 1 for 2013 SWAP completed!

61 thoughts on “Just Chanel

  1. Wow.Wow.Wow. What a beautiful jacket! and you really knocked it out of the park in terms of versatility. It truly looks spectacular in every setting. You've styled it so perfectly.

  2. Happy New Year! I've nominated you for the One Lovely Blog/Very Versatile Blogger. The rules are in my last post…

  3. Thank you Brenda -I hope you sew 'cause I just know you need one of these jackets.

  4. Thanks Carolyn, except I've had to loose this from my SWAP as it's not a 'top' by the official rules. Nice way to start I agree, but it'll teach me to read the rules in detail!

  5. Well thank you Robin. I regard that as praise indeed.

  6. Thank you so much. It really means a lot to me to know, that hopefully, I've inspired someone else to sew.

  7. With such a classic, how can we go wrong? Thank you

  8. Ruth, you are reading my mind! I have been wanting to make a Chanel jacket for so long, but I am worried it will make me look old and fuddy-duddy. But I love all the ways you have styled yours. This post is now going to be my crib sheet. Now I just have to work up the courage to do all that hand stitching…

  9. Pingback: May be May! | corecouture

  10. Pingback: Navy Daisies | corecouture

Let's talk.....

